PetDesk alternatives for veterinary clinics

This page is for a veterinary clinic that runs its reminders, texting, phones, online booking or website on PetDesk and is weighing a change. It compares the alternatives on the phones and on websites, with each vendor's facts taken from its own pages on October 8, 2026.

What PetDesk Is

PetDesk is a veterinary client-engagement platform. Its products are Communications (appointment and care reminders, two-way texting, digital forms and payments), Phones, Direct Booking (online booking from the clinic's website or the PetDesk app, connected to the PIMS), Scribe, and Marketing, the agency service that builds and manages clinic websites. Its pet-parent app carries reminders, booking and payments. PetDesk's client-engagement page says its products "can be used independently or combined". Vetstoria says it has been "part of the PetDesk family since 2022" and now trades as Vetstoria by PetDesk (Vetstoria), so this page counts it as part of PetDesk, not as an alternative.

PetDesk Phones is the phone system PetDesk supplies itself, with "no third-party involvement"; its provider terms name Kontak, a PetDesk affiliate, for the phone services. It lists caller ID, voicemail and transcription, extensions, call queues, call recording, conference calls, business hours, call routing and two years of call history, plus AI call summaries that write back to the PIMS and an automatic text to callers who reach voicemail, with replies in the PetDesk Comms Inbox. A February 9, 2026 PetDesk post says Phones is now built into Communications, with calls and texts in one inbox, for clinics that buy both. No PetDesk page we read describes AI answering calls.

PetDesk's site gives no prices. Its FAQ points clinics to its sales team, petdesk.com/pricing leads to its contact page, and its client-engagement page says pricing is based on the practice's size and the products it selects. Its provider terms treat the agreement's pricing as confidential.

On the contract, two PetDesk pages differ. Its FAQ says PetDesk works on month-to-month agreements and that cancelling takes 30 days' notice, effective 30 days from the next invoice date. Its provider terms, effective August 3, 2026, set each term on the Order Form, allow 30 days' notice to end the agreement only when no Order Form is outstanding, and say (§10.3) that if an Order Form ends for any reason other than PetDesk's material breach, there are no refunds and the fees for the whole Order Form term remain due. The terms don't mention porting. (PetDesk's and Vetstoria's pages read October 8, 2026.)

To be fair to PetDesk: it is a strong reminders and booking platform with a pet-parent app, and many clinics that choose a different phone system should keep it for that. PupPilot sends reminders and review requests too, so a clinic can move them or keep them. PupPilot's integrations directory lists most of the PIMS on PetDesk's list, including AVImark, Cornerstone, Covetrus Pulse, ezyVet, ImproMed and Neo.

What You're Replacing

Reminders

PupPilot sends appointment reminders, confirmation requests, and vaccine and heartworm reminders by text, email or AI voice call, and the replies come back to your inbox.

Veterinary reminder software

Texting

Clients text the same number they call, and every conversation lands in a shared inbox tied to the client and patient.

Veterinary text messaging

Phones

Unlimited calling and texting, desk phones, number porting and routing, with PupPilot AI answering the calls your team can't get to.

Veterinary phone system

Online booking

PupPilot books appointments on the call into your practice-management system and sends clients who'd rather book online to your booking link.

Veterinary scheduling software

Website

PupPilot builds your clinic's website, changes it when you ask in plain words, and keeps its SEO current.

Veterinary website design

The Phones: Two Kinds of Alternatives

For the phones, one question sorts the alternatives: after you buy it, do you still need a phone carrier?

A full phone system replaces your carrier: your numbers port to it, your desk phones come from it or are re-provisioned by it, calls and texts run through it, the old bill ends, and when you leave you port out and export your texts first. PetDesk Phones is one, as are the systems in the first table.

An add-on sits on top of the phone system you already have and answers calls without owning the number: the bill, the desk phones, the number, and texting from your main number and its history all stay with the system underneath. The five add-ons in the second table are the smaller purchase when the line itself is fine; what they cannot do is fix the line. More in AI receptionist vs phone system.

Feature PupPilot Weave Otto Digitail Mango Voice Emitrr RingCentral / Nextiva / Dialpad
Supplies the phone lines? Either — PupPilot AI Front Office keeps your carrier; PupPilot Phone System replaces itYesThrough its partner Axion, available with Otto FlowYes, inside its PIMS, as an add-on on every listed planYesYesYes — generic business phone service
Built for veterinary? Yes — veterinary onlyNo — several industries; its integrations page lists 14 veterinary PIMSYes — veterinary, with nine PIMS on its integrations pageYes — veterinary PIMSHealthcare VoIP with a veterinary solution page; not veterinary-specificMedical and veterinary VoIP; not veterinary-specificNo
AI answers calls? Yes — after hours, overflow, and when the desk is busyCall Intelligence is live; AI Receptionist is 'coming soon' to veterinary offices, with a waitlist (Oct 8, 2026)Not documented; AI Memo records and summarizes outbound callsNot documented for its own VoIP; AI summarizes calls afterward, and third-party AI answering such as Dodo integratesYes — 'Margo,' on the AI Suite tier onlyYes — AI Answering Service, including after hoursYes — each launched an AI receptionist in 2025–26
AI-based scheduling Yes — by voice, into your PIMSAutomatic booking 'for qualified Dental PMS only'; veterinary on the waitlist (Oct 2026)Not documented by phone; Agentic Confirmations confirms appointments in the PIMS by textNot documented by phone; online booking requests land in its calendar for staff to acceptIts veterinary page shows a sample AI call summary with an appointment booked; PIMS booking not documentedIts veterinary page lists 24/7 scheduling; no veterinary PIMS named on its integrations pagesNo — each books via Google/Outlook Calendar or Calendly, not a veterinary PIMS
Transfers to staff with context? Yes — live transfer with the caller's name, patient and reason on screenCall Pop shows client and pet from the PIMS on incoming calls; the AI Receptionist is coming soon for veterinaryNot documentedNot documented; calls are linked to the client and patient recordTransfer yes; context handoff not documentedTransfer yes; what staff see not documentedTransfer yes; veterinary PIMS context not documented
Texting from the main number? Yes — unlimitedYes — two-way; bulk-texting allotments by tierYes — unlimited two-way, from the clinic's numberYes — two-way SMS, an add-on on every listed planYes — two-way, from the main office numberYes — two-way, from the clinic's current numberYes — business SMS (Nextiva caps texts per user by plan)
Sold standalone? YesYesIts phones come with Otto FlowNo — runs inside the Digitail PIMSYesYesYes

Phone systems — the same seven questions for each; Otto's phones come through its partner Axion. 'Not documented' means we could not confirm it on the vendor's own pages, not that the vendor lacks it. Read on each vendor's own pages on October 8, 2026, except RingCentral, Nextiva and Dialpad, and Mango Voice's AI and transfer rows, last checked in August 2026. Vendors change pricing and features; tell us if something is out of date.

Feature Dodo AgentZap GuardianVets Smith.ai 24PetLine
Supplies the phone lines? No — add-on to your existing systemNot statedNo — add-on to your existing systemNo — add-on to your existing systemNot stated
Built for veterinary? Yes — veterinary, with a confirmed ezyVet integrationGeneric AI receptionist with a veterinary pageYes — veterinary after-hours triageNo — generic, with a pet-services pageYes — its site describes pet owners calling your clinic number
AI answers calls? YesYesNo — credentialed veterinary technicians answerYes — hybrid AI and human receptionistsYes
AI-based scheduling Yes — books directly in the PIMSClaimed; not publicly verifiableNo — people take the request; your staff book itNo — books via Calendly and similar calendar tools, not a PIMSNot documented
Transfers to staff with context? Transfer yes; context handoff not documentedYes — human escalation; context not documentedEscalates to your on-call doctorTransfer yes; context handoff not documentedUrgent cases routed to your on-call team; general transfer not documented
Sold standalone? Yes, as an add-onYes, as an add-onYes, as an add-onYes, as an add-onYes, as an add-on
Published pricing? Not publishedYes — $109 / $295 / $899 per month, minute-cappedNot publishedYes — from $300 per month (30 calls); overage $8.50–11.50 per callYes — $249 / $449 per month, minute-capped

Add-ons — each sits on top of the phone system you already have. Last checked August 2026 against each vendor's public pages. Vendors change pricing and features; tell us if something is out of date.

The Alternatives, One at a Time

PupPilot

PupPilot is the AI front office for veterinary clinics. Run it as an AI receptionist on the phone system you already have, or choose PupPilot Phone System, which replaces your phones and brings every call, text, email and fax into one inbox. The AI answers the calls your team can't get to — after hours, overflow, and when the desk is busy — handles the routine ones, and transfers the rest to your staff with the caller's name, patient, and reason for calling already on screen. It isn't a replacement for your receptionists; it's the part of the front office that makes sure every call reaches someone. PupPilot comes two ways: PupPilot AI Front Office on the phone system you have, or PupPilot Phone System, which replaces the carrier: your numbers port in, desk phones are included and provisioned, unlimited business texting runs from your main number, and the line stays up when the internet does not (reliability). A live transfer with context puts the PIMS record on your receptionist's screen before they say hello — and because the AI and the line are one system, the transfer runs concurrently, with the AI still talking while your phones ring; a caller who asks for a person, or sounds frustrated, gets one and joins an opt-out list. The return is calls answered and clients kept, not a smaller front desk. From the same system, PupPilot sends veterinary reminders and review requests, and it builds and keeps up veterinary websites.

Weave

Weave is the other PIMS-connected phone system on most shortlists. It sells to several industries, and its integrations page lists 14 veterinary PIMS. It supplies the lines, shows client and pet data from the PIMS on incoming calls (Call Pop), texts two-way from the office number, and sends reminders, review requests and digital forms. Call Intelligence is live. Its AI Receptionist is in early access, with automatic booking "for qualified Dental PMS only", and its AI page says the AI Receptionist is "coming soon to veterinary offices", with a waitlist. Its pricing page says plans start from $199 per month, with each tier priced on request. Its plans FAQ says Weave doesn't require long-term contracts and discounts year-long ones; its Terms of Service, updated October 2, 2026, renew orders automatically, and an order of a year or longer renews unless you give notice at least 30 days before its term ends. No website service is listed on Weave's product pages. See Weave alternatives for veterinary clinics and PetDesk vs Weave.

Otto

Otto is a veterinary client-communication platform, Otto Flow; its clinic terms name the company TeleVet, Inc., doing business as Otto. Flow covers unlimited two-way texting from the clinic's number, appointment and service reminders by text and email, review requests after appointments, digital forms, deposits and text-to-pay, and direct booking on the clinic's website and app, depending on the PIMS. Its phones come through its partner Axion, available with Flow at no extra charge from Otto, and its Otto vs Weave page says many clinics use both, with Weave handling calls. Otto's AI suggests replies to texts, and Agentic Confirmations, announced January 14, 2026, confirms appointments in the PIMS from clients' text replies. Its call AI, AI Memo, records and summarizes outbound calls; no Otto page we read describes AI answering inbound calls. Its plans page puts platform pricing at $350 to $1,000+ a month, with the Flow price locked in for a year. See PupPilot vs Otto.

Digitail

Digitail is a cloud practice-management system (PIMS) with its own VoIP phone system, so the lines live inside the PIMS; its VoIP page says there's "no separate phone bill or vendor to manage". Its plans page lists the phone system and two-way texting as add-ons on every listed plan, and Digitail's own guide says its VoIP works from headsets at the computer rather than desk phones. Its AI summarizes calls after they happen; for AI that answers calls, Digitail's help center documents integrations with third-party services such as Dodo. It is a phone system for Digitail practices; on another PIMS you would be changing PIMS to get the phones. See PupPilot vs Digitail.

Mango Voice

Mango Voice is healthcare VoIP, veterinary among its industries, and it supplies the lines. Its pricing page lists the Phone Suite at $119 per month for one to three phones, billed monthly, and each plan carries a one-time implementation fee. In August 2026 the same page listed the Premier Suite at $219 and the AI Suite at $419, with its "Margo" AI receptionist on the AI Suite only. It texts two-way from the main office number and sends the caller a text when a call goes unanswered. Its veterinary page shows a sample AI call summary with a wellness exam booked on the call. In August 2026 transfer to staff was documented; whether the pet's record is on screen when Margo transfers a call was not. See PupPilot vs Mango Voice.

Emitrr

Emitrr is a full VoIP system for medical and veterinary offices, and it supplies the lines. Its AI Answering Service answers inbound calls, including after hours and at busy times, and transfers urgent calls, or calls that need a person, to staff. It texts two-way from the clinic's current number, and it lists appointment reminders by text, email or automated voice call, and review requests after each visit. An Emitrr blog post lists VoIP at $25 or $35 per user per month billed monthly, or $20 or $30 billed yearly. Its integrations library names medical and dental systems, and an Emitrr blog post says it integrates with AVImark and eVetPractice; verify what its integration shows when a client calls. See PupPilot vs Emitrr.

RingCentral, Nextiva and Dialpad

RingCentral, Nextiva and Dialpad supply the lines and publish some pricing (Nextiva from $15 per user per month; the others by quote or usage). They text from your number, and each launched an AI receptionist in 2025–26. Veterinary PIMS integration is not documented for any of the three: the chart on screen would come from an add-on, and you are back to two systems. More in the best veterinary phone systems guide. (Last checked August 2026.)

The Add-Ons: Dodo, AgentZap, GuardianVets, Smith.ai, 24PetLine

Dodo is an AI answering add-on for veterinary clinics (ezyVet integration confirmed); it handles calls and texts across any phone system and transfers to staff; pricing is not published. AgentZap is a generic AI receptionist with a veterinary page; it transfers to your team with human backup and publishes minute-capped plans at $109, $295 and $899 per month. GuardianVets is staffed by people: credentialed veterinary technicians triage after-hours calls and escalate urgent cases to your on-call doctor — no lines, no published pricing, after hours only. Smith.ai is a hybrid AI-and-human receptionist with a pet-services page, from $300 per month for 30 calls plus $8.50 to $11.50 per call over. 24PetLine is an AI answering add-on for veterinary clinics at $249 and $449 per month, minute-capped; urgent cases go to your on-call team, and a general transfer to staff is not documented. (Last checked August 2026.)

Head-to-heads: PupPilot vs Dodo, AgentZap, GuardianVets and Smith.ai.

Websites: PetDesk and the Alternatives

PetDesk sells clinic websites through PetDesk Marketing, its agency service: "Let us build and manage your website and take care of your online search rankings" (PetDesk Marketing). PetDesk's website business is the former WhiskerCloud: whiskercloud.com now redirects to petdesk.com (checked October 8, 2026). PetDesk's provider terms name three Marketing plans, Launch, Grow and Content; under Launch, PetDesk hosts and maintains the website. Vetstoria's About page says that in 2022 it teamed up with veterinary technology brands including PetDesk, WhiskerCloud and Kontak.

Weave, Otto, Digitail, Mango Voice and Emitrr list no clinic-website service on the pages we read. Otto's plans page lists a microsite for its Otto Care plans, and Digitail's Growth plans list an "SEO Optimized Landing Page". PupPilot builds your clinic's website, changes it when you ask in plain words, and keeps its SEO current: see veterinary website design. For more companies side by side, see the best veterinary website companies.

Feature PupPilot PetDesk Weave Otto Digitail Mango Voice Emitrr
Price Listed on veterinary website design.Not published. Its FAQ points clinics to its sales team; its provider terms name three Marketing plans: Launch, Grow and Content.Not documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented
Contract and leaving No long-term contract required. You can leave whenever you like.Its FAQ: month-to-month, with 30 days' notice to cancel. Its provider terms, effective August 3, 2026 (§10.3): if an Order Form ends for any reason other than PetDesk's material breach, the fees for the whole term remain due.Not documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented
Who owns the domain and content You do. Your domain stays registered to you, and PupPilot makes no claim to your content.Its provider terms, effective August 3, 2026 (§13.3): PetDesk keeps ownership of the deliverables it builds; once fees are paid, the clinic is assigned the logo, media files and copy made for it. PetDesk hosts the clinic's domain on request; the terms don't say who registers it.Not documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented
How a change gets made You ask in a chat, in plain words. Updates are unlimited and included.PetDesk's team makes it: its marketing page says the team "handles all hosting, security, SEO, and content updates".Not documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documentedNot documented

Websites — the same four questions for each. PetDesk's provider terms are effective August 3, 2026; every vendor page was read on October 8, 2026. 'Not documented' means the vendor's pages we read list no clinic-website service, not that it has none.

PetDesk Phones vs PupPilot in One Paragraph

Both are PIMS-connected phone systems that replace the carrier and text from the clinic's main number. The difference is the calls your team cannot take. PetDesk's phones summarize a call after your team has taken it; for the call nobody picks up it documents voicemail, transcription and a missed-call auto-text. PupPilot's phones answer the calls your team can't take — after hours, overflow, and when the desk is busy — and hand the ones that need a person to your team with the chart already open. The full head-to-head is PupPilot vs PetDesk.

Switching Without Losing Your Number

Port first, cancel second. Some vendors' terms allow a port-out only while the account is active, and PetDesk's provider terms (effective August 3, 2026) don't mention porting, so ask PetDesk for its porting terms in writing — along with your Order Form's term and termination clauses — before you give notice.

Under FCC rules a single-line port with no complications must complete within 1 business day, and a carrier cannot refuse to port your number over an unpaid balance or a termination fee (FCC porting guide).

Before the term ends, export call recordings, the 2-year call history and any texts you want to keep: PetDesk's provider terms make the clinic solely responsible for keeping backup copies of its data. If PetDesk runs your website, ask for the logo, media files and copy the terms assign to you once fees are paid, and confirm who registers your domain. If PetDesk Communications stays for reminders, decide which platform owns texting from your main number; a number's texts route through one platform at a time. Our switching and porting page has the checklist, and switching from PetDesk the PetDesk-specific version.

Sources

PupPilot publishes this page and is one of the products on it. Every statement about another product comes from that vendor's own pages, read October 8, 2026, except where a line says otherwise.

RingCentral, Nextiva, Dialpad, Dodo, AgentZap, GuardianVets, Smith.ai and 24PetLine were last checked in August 2026.

Questions clinics ask

Can I buy PetDesk Phones without PetDesk Communications?

PetDesk's pages differ. Its compatible-PIMS page says, "Currently, you must be a PetDesk Communications customer in order to also have PetDesk Phones," while its client-engagement page says its products "can be used independently or combined" (both read October 8, 2026). Ask PetDesk to settle it in your Order Form. Standalone options in the table: PupPilot, Weave, Mango Voice, Emitrr and the generic carriers; Otto's phones come with Otto Flow, and Digitail's VoIP runs inside its PIMS.

Does PetDesk Phones have an AI receptionist?

Its documented AI works after the call: summaries written back to the PIMS, voicemail transcription, and Scribe, a separate product that writes SOAP notes. No PetDesk page we read on October 8, 2026 describes AI answering calls. Our best AI receptionist guide covers both routes: AI on the line, or an add-on in front of PetDesk Phones.

How much does PetDesk cost?

PetDesk's site gives no prices. Its FAQ points clinics to its sales team, its client-engagement page says pricing is based on the practice's size and the products it selects, and its provider terms treat the agreement's pricing as confidential (all read October 8, 2026). Ask for an Order Form and read its term and termination clauses first.

Can I keep PetDesk for reminders and use a different phone system?

Yes. Communications is the base product and Phones the addition, so keeping reminders and booking while moving the lines is the normal direction. PupPilot sends reminders and review requests too, so you can move them or keep them on PetDesk. Decide which platform owns texting from your main number, and check your PIMS in PupPilot's integrations directory.

Which alternative is best if I only need after-hours coverage?

If the daytime system works and the only gap is nights and weekends, an add-on is the smaller purchase: GuardianVets for people, an AI add-on otherwise. It does not fix the phone line. If after-hours is the only need, start with our veterinary answering service page; after-hours coverage is the same feature inside the full phone system.

See what PupPilot does with a call your team cannot take

Meet with our medical team, not our sales team. See what's included on the pricing page, and the full head-to-head in PupPilot vs PetDesk.