Weave alternatives for veterinary clinics

For a clinic on Weave, or evaluating it, that wants the phone system, the texting, and AI coverage for the calls the team can't get to — without the parts of Weave it doesn't use. Every alternative is sorted by one question: after you buy this, do you still need a phone carrier? Further down, a table sets PupPilot against Weave on the rest: texting, reviews, forms, deposits, scheduling and websites.

Why Veterinary Clinics Look for a Weave Alternative

Weave is a multi-industry phone and client-communication platform for dental, veterinary, optometry, medspa and other practices: cloud VoIP, Call Pop (client information from your practice information management system, or PIMS, on an incoming call), two-way texting, missed-call text, online scheduling with PIMS writeback, payments, reviews, forms and Call Intelligence analytics (Weave's homepage and veterinary page, read October 8, 2026).

It's built for many kinds of practices, and some features reach dental offices first. Weave's AI Receptionist answers calls, texts and website chats around the clock, and its automatic booking and rescheduling is marked "For qualified Dental PMS only". For veterinary offices, Weave's AI page says the AI Receptionist is coming soon and asks clinics to join a waitlist. Call Intelligence, which analyzes call recordings and caller sentiment with AI, is listed on the same page.

Weave's own pages show three plan structures. Its plans page starts with a base bundle at $199 and adds bundles from $149 or individual products. Its pricing page lists Pro, Elite and Ultimate "starting from $199 per month", with a Get Pricing button on each and monthly bulk-texting allotments of 1,500, 3,000 and 15,000 messages. Its veterinary page lists Essentials, Pro, Elite and Ultimate with no prices.

On contracts, Weave's pages say two things. The plans page's FAQ says Weave doesn't require long-term contracts and offers discounts on year-long ones. Its Terms of Service, updated October 2, 2026, say subscriptions renew automatically, orders of a year or longer renew unless you give notice at least 30 days before the term ends, and an order with a stated term owes the fees for the full term. Its VoIP terms, updated June 23, 2023, run month to month unless the order says otherwise. The order form is where the term is set, so check yours.

Two Kinds of Alternatives

A full phone system supplies the lines. It becomes your carrier: your number ports to it, your desk phones register to it, and calls and texts run through it. Weave is one; so are PupPilot, PetDesk Phones, Digitail's built-in VoIP, Mango Voice, Emitrr and the generic business phone services. Buying one replaces Weave outright: one bill, one system, one vendor to hold responsible when a call drops.

An add-on sits on top of whatever phone system you already have. Dodo, AgentZap, 24PetLine, Smith.ai and GuardianVets all work this way: your existing system sends them the calls nobody picked up, typically after hours or when every line is busy. Buying one does not replace Weave.

Four things follow. The bill: an add-on is a second line item on top of a carrier. The desk phones: a full system supplies handsets or re-provisions yours; an add-on never touches them. The number: only a full system ports it, so only a full system can lose it. The texting history: it lives with the number, so moving to a full system means exporting your Weave conversations first; an add-on leaves them alone. More on the distinction in AI receptionist vs phone system.

Feature PupPilot PetDesk Phones Digitail Mango Voice Emitrr RingCentral / Nextiva / Dialpad
Supplies the phone lines? Either — PupPilot AI Front Office keeps your carrier; PupPilot Phone System replaces itYes — PIMS-connected VoIP; PetDesk's pages differ on whether it's sold without PetDesk CommunicationsYes, inside its PIMS (VoIP is an add-on on every listed plan)YesYesYes — generic business phone service
Built for veterinary? Yes — veterinary onlyYes — veterinary onlyYes — veterinary PIMSHealthcare VoIP with a veterinary solution page; not veterinary-specificMedical and veterinary VoIP; not veterinary-specificNo
AI answers calls? Yes — after hours, overflow, and when the desk is busyNot publicly documented (AI call summaries for staff after the call)Call intelligence and concierge triage; AI voice answering not publicly documentedYes — 'Margo,' on the AI Suite tier onlyYes — AI voice agentYes — each launched an AI receptionist in 2025–26
AI-based scheduling Yes — by voice, into your PIMSNot publicly documented — online booking is self-service (Direct Booking)Partial — Concierge AI booking workflow in its own PIMS; not by phoneNot publicly documented — in Mango's example, Margo collects the caller's details for the team to confirmPartial — books in its own scheduling module; PIMS booking not documentedNo — each books via Google/Outlook Calendar or Calendly, not a veterinary PIMS
Transfers to staff with context? Yes — live transfer with the caller's name, patient and reason on screenNot publicly documented; staff phones show PIMS caller IDTransfer yes; what staff see not publicly documentedTransfer yes; context handoff not publicly documentedTransfer yes; context handoff not publicly documentedTransfer yes; veterinary PIMS context not publicly documented
Texting from the main number? Yes — unlimitedYes — clinic-number texting; missed-call auto-text to a shared inboxYes — two-way texting, an add-on on every listed planYes — texting includedYes — two-way textingYes — business SMS

Full phone systems — each replaces Weave outright. 'Not publicly documented' means we could not confirm it from the vendor's public pages, not that the vendor lacks it. PetDesk, Digitail, Mango Voice and Emitrr verified October 2026 against each vendor's public pages; RingCentral, Nextiva and Dialpad verified August 2026. Vendors change pricing and features; tell us if something is out of date.

Feature Dodo AgentZap GuardianVets Smith.ai 24PetLine
Supplies the phone lines? No — add-on to your existing systemNot statedNo — add-on to your existing systemNo — add-on to your existing systemNot stated
Built for veterinary? Yes — integrates with ezyVet (confirmed)Generic AI receptionist with a veterinary pageYes — veterinary after-hours triageNo — generic, with a pet-services pageYes — its site describes pet owners calling your clinic number
AI answers calls? YesYesNo — staffed by peopleYes — hybrid AI and human receptionistsYes
AI-based scheduling Yes — books directly in the PIMSClaimed; not publicly verifiableNo — people take the request; your staff book itNo — books via Calendly and similar calendar tools, not a PIMSNot publicly documented
Transfers to staff with context? Transfer yes; context handoff not publicly documentedYes — human escalation; context not publicly documentedEscalates to your on-call doctorTransfer yes; context handoff not publicly documentedUrgent cases routed to your on-call team; general transfer not publicly documented
Texting from the main number? Stays with your existing systemNot publicly documentedStays with your existing systemStays with your existing systemNot publicly documented
Published pricing? Not publishedYes — $109 / $295 / $899 per month, minute-cappedNot publishedYes — from $300 per month (30 calls); overage $8.50–11.50 per callYes — $249 / $449 per month, minute-capped

Add-ons — each sits on top of the phone system you already have and does not replace Weave. Verified August 2026 against each vendor's public pages. Vendors change pricing and features; tell us if something is out of date.

Weave Competitors, One at a Time

PupPilot

PupPilot is the AI front office for veterinary clinics. Run it as an AI receptionist on the phone system you already have, or choose PupPilot Phone System, which replaces your phones and brings every call, text, email and fax into one inbox. PupPilot comes two ways: PupPilot AI Front Office on the phone system you have, or PupPilot Phone System, which replaces the carrier: your number ports to PupPilot, and the plan includes unlimited calling, unlimited business texting from that number, email, fax, desk phones that arrive provisioned, clinic routing and reliability. The AI answers the calls your team can't get to — after hours, overflow, and when the desk is busy — handles the routine ones, and transfers the rest to your staff with the caller's name, patient, and reason for calling already on screen. That live call transfer is the handoff — and because the AI and the line are one system, it runs concurrently: your phones are already ringing while the AI keeps talking, so the caller never sits in dead air, and the AI stays with them if nobody picks up. A caller who asks for a person, or sounds frustrated, is moved to one and added to an opt-out list so their next call skips the AI. It isn't a replacement for your receptionists. It's the part of the front office that makes sure every call reaches someone. In one general practice's data, the AI transferred more than 1,000 calls to staff with context in five weekdays, and 4.3% of callers opted out — a return counted in calls answered and clients kept, not in staff.

PetDesk Phones

PetDesk Phones is the closest like-for-like replacement in the veterinary-only category: PIMS-connected VoIP with caller ID from the PIMS, call queues, call recording, missed-call auto-text, AI call summaries written back to the PIMS, and two years of call history (PetDesk Phones, read October 8, 2026). PetDesk's pages differ on whether it's sold on its own: its compatible-PIMS page says a clinic must be a PetDesk Communications customer to have PetDesk Phones, and its client engagement page says each product can be used independently or combined. Its AI is summaries for staff after the call; AI voice answering is not publicly documented, so unanswered calls would still need an add-on. PetDesk says its pricing depends on the practice's size and the products it selects. On contracts, its FAQ says it doesn't require long-term contracts and works month to month, with 30 days' notice to cancel. Its subscriber terms (effective August 3, 2026, section 10.3) say that if an Order Form is terminated for any reason other than PetDesk's material breach, there's no refund and PetDesk is owed the fees for the whole Order Form term (both read October 8, 2026). More in our guide to PetDesk alternatives.

Digitail

Digitail is a cloud PIMS with VoIP built in, plus its "Tails AI" layer. That makes it the one alternative where the phone line and the medical record are the same product. What it documents on calls is call intelligence (summaries, sentiment, next steps) and concierge triage; AI voice answering is not publicly documented. Digitail's plans page lists its VoIP phone system and two-way texting as add-ons on every listed plan (read October 8, 2026), and its help center says to contact support for pricing, so ask what the line costs for your clinic. For a clinic happy with its PIMS, changing PIMS to fix the phones is a large move for a narrow problem. See PupPilot vs Digitail.

Mango Voice

Mango Voice is healthcare VoIP for dental, optometry, veterinary and other practices, with "Margo," an AI receptionist that answers the calls the team can't get to. It supplies the lines, includes texting and fax, and publishes its pricing: $119, $219 and $419 a month for one to three phones, billed monthly (Mango Voice pricing, read October 8, 2026). Margo is only on the $419 AI Suite tier, so price that tier if AI coverage is the point. It is not veterinary-specific, and whether the pet's record is on screen when Margo transfers a call is not publicly documented. See PupPilot vs Mango Voice.

Emitrr

Emitrr is a full VoIP system for medical and veterinary offices with two-way texting and an AI voice agent that handles inbound calls. Its prices appear in its blog rather than on a pricing page: a post updated January 15, 2026 lists VoIP at $25 to $35 per user per month billed monthly, or $20 to $30 billed yearly (read October 8, 2026). It supplies the lines, so it replaces Weave rather than adding to it. The veterinary depth is not publicly documented: whether the AI answers with the pet's record in view, and what a transferred call looks like on the receptionist's screen. Ask Emitrr to show it working with your PIMS connected. See PupPilot vs Emitrr.

RingCentral, Nextiva and Dialpad

The generic business phone services supply the lines, publish at least some pricing (Nextiva from $15 per user per month; the others by quote or usage), and each launched an AI receptionist in 2025–26. For plain telecom, they are a reasonable answer. What they lack is the clinic: veterinary PIMS integration is not publicly documented for any of the three, so Call Pop has no documented equivalent. Rebuild that layer yourself or add an add-on, and you are back to two systems.

The Add-Ons: Dodo, AgentZap, GuardianVets, Smith.ai, 24PetLine

None of these supplies a phone line; each answers the calls your existing system sends it. They fit a clinic that wants to keep Weave and add coverage, not one whose problem is Weave itself.

Dodo is an AI answering add-on with a confirmed ezyVet integration; it answers and transfers to staff. Pricing is not published. AgentZap is a generic AI receptionist with a veterinary page; it answers, escalates to a human, and publishes minute-capped pricing at $109, $295 and $899 per month. GuardianVets is the exception: human-staffed veterinary after-hours triage, not AI — people answer, urgent cases go to your on-call doctor, and pricing is not published. Smith.ai is a hybrid AI-and-human receptionist service with a pet-services page, from $300 per month for 30 calls with overage of $8.50 to $11.50 per call. 24PetLine is an AI answering add-on for veterinary clinics with published, minute-capped pricing at $249 and $449 per month; urgent cases are routed to your on-call team, and whether it supplies lines, or transfers routine calls to staff, is not publicly documented.

Our best AI receptionist guide compares these feature by feature; for phone systems, start with the best veterinary phone systems.

The Rest of What a Weave Clinic Replaces

Weave isn't only the phone line. A clinic on Weave also uses it for texting, review requests, forms, deposits and scheduling, so leaving means replacing those too. The table below sets Weave against PupPilot on each one. Weave's cells come from Weave's own pages, linked in the cells and read October 8, 2026.

The last row is for clinics that want one vendor for the phones and the website. Weave's site lists no website service.

Each PupPilot row has its own page: veterinary text messaging, veterinary reputation management, veterinary intake forms, appointment deposits, veterinary scheduling software and veterinary websites.

Feature PupPilot Weave
Texting Yes, unlimited, on the number PupPilot runs for the clinic.Yes: two-way texting from an office number, and clients can text the office number through Text Connect (Weave texting). Bulk texting is a monthly allotment of 1,500, 3,000 or 15,000 messages by tier (Weave pricing).
Reviews Yes: a review request after the visit, by text or email.Yes: review requests sent automatically after appointments, and an AI Response Assistant that replies to reviews, with the option to check replies before they go out (Weave for veterinary practices, Weave reviews).
Forms Yes, on the website PupPilot builds.Yes: digital forms sent by text, from the client's profile, in an automatic reminder or in kiosk mode, written back to the record automatically or after staff review (Weave digital forms).
Deposits Yes: appointment deposits, paid from a link by text or online.Yes: scheduling deposits, collected upfront when the appointment is booked (Weave payments).
Scheduling Books on the call into the practice-management system. Online booking through the clinic's link.Online booking from the clinic website, with automatic appointment writebacks to the PIMS (Weave for veterinary practices); Weave's scheduling page describes requests from the website or Google listing that the team approves. Booking by AI on the call: for veterinary offices, the AI Receptionist is on a waitlist (Weave AI).
Websites Yes: websites built and kept current, with SEO, SEO audits and GEO audits (veterinary website design).Not documented

Weave's cells come from Weave's own pages, read October 8, 2026. 'Not documented' means Weave's pages don't describe it. Verified October 2026. Vendors change pricing and features; tell us if something is out of date.

How to Switch From Weave Without Losing Your Number or Your Texts

Port first, cancel second. Weave's VoIP terms allow a port-out only while the account is active and in good standing, and warn that cancelling before the port completes may release your number. Its Terms of Service, updated October 2, 2026, add that no cancellation takes effect until every phone number on the account has been ported out, and that monthly fees are charged for any billing period in which a number remains (both read October 8, 2026). So: sign with the new system, submit the port, wait for confirmation that the number has moved, then cancel Weave.

Under FCC rules a basic single-line port must complete within 1 business day, and a carrier cannot refuse to port a number over an unpaid balance or a termination fee (FCC porting guide).

Ask Weave, in writing, for its port-out process and any early-termination terms on your order form; its VoIP terms run month-to-month "or as otherwise stated on the Order," and its Terms of Service say an order with a stated term owes the fees for the full term, so the order form is where an annual term would live. Export your texting history and any call recordings before you cancel. Keep the desk phones if they are standard SIP handsets: ask whether your handsets can be re-provisioned. The checklist is on our switching and porting page; the Weave-specific version is switching from Weave.

Questions clinics ask

Is Weave a phone system or a communication platform?

Both. Weave supplies the phone lines (cloud VoIP, phone tree, call queue, Call Pop) and bundles texting, reminders, scheduling, payments, reviews, forms and analytics on top. Leaving it means replacing a carrier and a texting platform at once; an AI add-on replaces neither.

Does Weave have an AI receptionist for veterinary clinics?

Not yet for veterinary offices. As of October 8, 2026, Weave's AI page says its AI Receptionist is coming soon to veterinary offices and asks them to join a waitlist, and its AI Receptionist page marks automatic booking and rescheduling "For qualified Dental PMS only". Call Intelligence, which analyzes call recordings with AI, is listed on Weave's AI and pricing pages.

Can I keep my phone number if I leave Weave?

Yes, if you port it out before you cancel. Weave's VoIP terms allow porting only while the account is active and in good standing, and cancelling before the port completes risks losing the number; its Terms of Service (updated October 2, 2026) say no cancellation takes effect until every number has been ported out. FCC rules require a basic single-line port to complete within 1 business day and prohibit refusing a port over an unpaid balance. The mechanics are on our switching and porting page.

What does Weave cost?

Weave's pages show three plan structures as of October 8, 2026. The plans page starts with a base bundle at $199 and adds bundles from $149 or individual products; the pricing page lists Pro, Elite and Ultimate "starting from $199 per month" with a Get Pricing button on each; and the veterinary page lists Essentials, Pro, Elite and Ultimate with no prices. The plans FAQ says Weave doesn't require long-term contracts, while its Terms of Service (updated October 2, 2026) say subscriptions renew automatically, orders of a year or longer renew unless you give notice at least 30 days before the term ends, and subscription fees may rise by up to 10% in any 12-month period. Check your order form.

Which Weave alternative is best if I only need after-hours coverage?

An add-on may be enough. If the phone system is fine and the only gap is calls going to voicemail at night, an AI answering service or a human-staffed triage line will answer them without replacing Weave — see our veterinary answering service and after-hours coverage. It does not fix the phone line, though: you keep paying Weave, and daytime overflow, the app and the contract stay as they are.

See the phone system with the AI on the line

Meet with our medical team, not our sales team. Book a config call to see what a receptionist sees when a call is transferred — the head-to-head is PupPilot vs Weave.